www.racing-cars.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Electric > Off Road
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Cat SX'3 Shock mount Problems
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Cat SX'3 Shock mount Problems

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
spybot View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 June 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote spybot Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Cat SX'3 Shock mount Problems
    Posted: 01 February 2014 at 9:15pm
Bit of an unusual question, but I trying to get back into racing after over 20 years away from the sport. When I used to race it was on flat carpet in the main, multi-surface racing (Off-Road Tracks Indoors) was in it's infancy. I'm gradually getting my CAT SX3 to handle how I like it on the flat & in corners, rumble strips, jumps & the half-pipe the club I race at are not really a problem but the club make their tracks in a (for the wont of a better description) a figure of 8 using a ramped bridge to leap over the track I cannot get to grips with & am continually breaking my front end, I am especially going through carbon fibre front shock mounts. I have been told to get the S1 version as it has a bit more flex in it but after seeing a Cat K1 Aero I am thinking that using the nut guards may be a better all round solution, I don't for 1 minute expect it to fit directlt to the SX3's Shock mount so I would like to swap over to use the K1 Aero's Shock Mount does anyone know if it will fit?
Back to Top
zeb44 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 26 January 2010
Location: France
Status: Offline
Points: 66
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zeb44 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 February 2014 at 3:58pm
Hi

It won't, sorry. The transmission housing is wider on the K1. The holes on the shock mounts are not at the same place.
Maybe if you drill new holes on the shock mount to fit it on the SX3 transmission housing... but I'm afraid the holes will be too close from the original ones...
Maybe find a piece of carbon and build it yourself. If so, USE A MASK when you cut it.


Edited by zeb44 - 05 February 2014 at 3:59pm
Back to Top
MattW View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 08 July 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 479
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MattW Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 February 2014 at 11:29pm
K1 mounts won't fit your SX3 as Zeb says.

However, if it's just the nut guards that you really want to fit, I suspect you'd be able to modify that to fit the SX3 - as you should just be able to slot the holes in the nut guard and bolt it on.

Don't hold me to that, but I think it should work!!
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.01
Copyright ©2001-2011 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.